Home > Sports > East Bengal end Lajong dream run, lift Federation Cup

East Bengal end Lajong dream run, lift Federation Cup

January 4, 2010

Custodian Abhra Mandal saved three successive penalty shots to help East Bengal clinch Federation Cup football title by overcoming giant-killer Lajong FC of Shillong in a keenly contested summit clash in Guwahati on Sunday.

Yusif Yakubu, Nirmal Chhetri and Sanju Pradhan scored for the Kolkata outfit in the penalty shootout after stipulated 90 minutes as well as the extra-time failed to determine the champion of the prestigious tournament at a packed Nehru Stadium.

Mandal successfully thwarted the penalty attempts by Anil Gurung, Samson Ramengmawia and Kyrshan Lyngshing, following which Pradhan scored East Bengal’s third goal to seal the win.

Lajong, who had shocked I-League champions Churchill Brothers 1-0 to book their maiden final berth earlier, rode on the crowd support to thwart the Kolkata giant in regulation time as Yakubu, Mehtab Hussain and Nabi missed chances galore.

Categories: Sports
%d bloggers like this: