Home > India > Fourth phase of polls begins in Jharkhand

Fourth phase of polls begins in Jharkhand

December 12, 2009

Voting began amid heavy security arrangements in the fourth phase of polls in Jharkhand on Saturday with 14 assembly seats situated in Maoist stronghold areas.

Polling began at 7 a.m. The 14 seats where poll will take place are: Bahragora, Ghatsila, Potka, Ichagarh, Majhgaon, Manoharpur, Torpa, Sisai, Chakradharpur, Gumla, Bishunpur, Simdega, Kolebira and Lohardaga.

Of the 14 assembly seats 12 are reserved for schedule tribe candidates.

The fate of 233 candidates will be decided by 2,462,850 voters.

Heavy security arrangements, including aerial survey by six helicopters, have been made to ensure peaceful polling.

In the first three phases, voting took in 51 of the 81 seats on Nov 25, Dec 2 and 8. The last phase of polling will take place on Dec 18.

Categories: India
%d bloggers like this: